Danielpour: Darkness in the Ancient Valley / Guerrero, Nashville Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Musicians ranging from Leonard Bernstein to the Emerson String Quartet have championed award-winning composer Richard Danielpour. Lacrimae Beati owes its origin to Mozart’s Requiem and was conceived after a perilous flight in 2002. Darkness in the Ancient Valley, a symphony in five movements inspired by recent events in Iran, utilizes a wide range of Persian folk-melodies and Sufi rhythms. A Woman’s Life, a cycle of poems by Maya Angelou, charts a moving trajectory from childhood to old age.



The program closes with A Woman’s Life (2007), based on a cycle of poems on that topic by Maya Angelou, who read the cycle, apparently unforgettably, to Danielpour and his wife in 2006. These songs are pitch perfect and memorably touching. I was enthralled from the start—a childhood poem of devastating innocence cloaked with an aura usually reserved for the likes of Barber—and if you love his music and American song repertoire in general you must hear this cycle. The finale is unspeakably beautiful. Ms Brown sings with loving understanding. The Nashville players sound great, as is usual these days.

–American Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8559707

  • UPC: 636943970720

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Richard Danielpour

  • Conductor: Giancarlo Guerrero

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Nashville Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Angela Brown, Hila Plitmann