Wind Concertos / Guerrero, Nashville Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
These three concertos share a traditional three-movement structure and owe their origins to composers who are acclaimed and highly respected in their field, but this is as far as their similarities go. Frank Ticheli’s Clarinet Concerto pays homage to Gershwin, Copland and Bernstein in its jazzy influences and song-like central movement, while Brad Warnaar’s Horn Concerto is based entirely around the diatonic or ‘white’ scale, reverberating with bell motifs and concluding with jocular musical banter between soloist and orchestra. Behzad Ranjbaran is a native of Iran, and his Flute Concerto is packed with exotic color, expressing contrasts of grief and joy, dream-like tenderness, and festive energy.



As 21st-century wind concertos go, this is as entertaining as it gets. On the evidence of these straightforward yet superbly constructed pieces I definitely want to hear more. The Nashville Symphony Orchestra and Giancarlo Guerrero accompany the featured soloists with real conviction in the fine acoustic of Laura Turner Concert Hall. Terrific sound from Gary Call and Tim Handley. Highly recommended.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8559818

  • UPC: 636943981825

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Behzad Ranjbaran, Brad Warnaar, Frank Ticheli

  • Conductor: Giancarlo Guerrero

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Nashville Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Erik Gratton, James Zimmermann, Leslie Norton