Corigliano, Torke & Copland: Orchestral Works / Miller

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Listen to the Naxos Podcast to learn more about this release

These three works represent the first recording for Naxos by the National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic, which is composed of elite conservatory students from across the United States and abroad. The chosen works reflect the richness and variety of the American repertoire. A work of immense poignancy and power, John Corigliano's Symphony No. 1 is a commemoration of friends of the composer who died during the 1980s and '90s. Michael Torke's Bright Blue Music evokes rich lyricism couched in the composer's favorite key of D Major. The suite from Copland's Appalachian Spring is one of the great, quintessential American works.


Large-limbed, vivid, and intense, John Corigliano’s 1989 Symphony No 1 commemorates the Aids crisis, memorialising some of the composer’s friends who succumbed at a time when diagnosis meant death. It has also stood the test of time simply as good music, here performed superbly.

– Sunday Times

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8559782

  • UPC: 636943978221

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Aaron Copland, John Corigliano, Michael Torke

  • Conductor: David Alan Miller

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic