Mozart: Missa Brevis, Regina Coeli, Fantasy / Lucas, St. Albans Cathedral Choirs

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
During his years in Salzburg, Mozart wrote a series of shorter mass settings, for which he drew on the models of his senior colleague Michael Haydn. Regina coeli reveals his supreme skill at writing for the solo voice. The Missa brevis in D, K 194 is a work of great solemnity, employing a remarkable range of expressive contrasts, whilst the Missa brevis in B flat, K 275 is notable for its sublime lyricism and grace. The Allegro and Andante in F minor, K 608 is regarded as Mozart’s finest work for the organ and and has become one of the cornerstones of the organ repertory.

R E V I E W S:

"This is a thoroughly recommendable collection of sacred choral music… The performance is excellent, relaxed and easygoing, with no attempt to add extra weight or drama where it is not required. Elizabeth Cragg takes her solo role with great skill and sensitivity. This is a lovely performance of the D major Missa brevis too…the overall mood, in line with the nature of the work, is relaxed and genial. With an excellent quartet of soloists and expert playing from the period instrument group Sinfonia Verdi, it remains only to hand out plaudits to the choir, which is clearly in excellent shape under Lucas’s direction."
© 2013 International Record Review

"…on this evidence the choral tradition at St Albans is in rude health, the tone consistent and untiring. The soloists blend well, with Elizabeth Cragg coming to the fore in an early setting of the Marian antiphon Regina coeli; and Tom Winpenny provides contrast in the much later F minor organ Fantasia, played with élan on the cathedral’s 1962 Harrison."
© 2013 Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573092

  • UPC: 747313309276

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Andrew Lucas

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Sinfonia Verdi, St. Alban's Cathedral Choir

  • Performer: Daniel Auchincloss, Deborah Miles-Johnson, Elizabeth Cragg, Lawrence White, Tom Winpenny