Die Rohre - The Tube / Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Tube is a collection of excellently played baroque music using Tubes though out the entire recording process. On the back of the SACD it says No conductor - no semiconductor - I beg your pardon." The players on this SACD are the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra and they have no conductor. The booklet explains how semiconductors were avoided in making this SACD. From the 2 Neumann M49 valve microphones, the tubed mixer, to the restored tubed Telefunken M5 2 channel Stereo Reel to Reel, to the editing by hand up to the DSD converter which does use semiconductors. However the booklet says "... in the course of being converted the signal does not pass through any transistors, but rather adjoins them and is measured: The transistors cannot 'pass on' any of their properties to it's sound. So we can rightly claim that for the music recorded here no transistor effected the sound in any way all at. This 2 channel SACD has the most gorgeous sounding strings I have ever heard in any format, the sound and music are utterly beautiful. This is not a sampler but complete works by the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra. I especially love the first selection "La Musica Notturna della strade di Madrid" by Boccherini it is not only beautiful but exciting too, a major discovery for me. Also other gems by Sammartini, Avison, Scarlatti, Handel, Vivaldi, Biber and Corelli. I highly recommend this 2 channel SACD to one and all; it was auditioned on my 2-channel high-end system. Happy listening, Teresa"

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 01, 2003

  • Catalog Number: TACET074SACD

  • UPC: 4009850007449

  • Label: Tacet

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Arcangelo Corelli, Charles Avison, George Frideric Handel, Giovanni Battista Sammartini, Heinrich Ignaz Biber, Luigi Boccherini

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra