Ustvolskaya, Silvestrov & Kancheli: Works for Piano & Orchestra / Blumina, Sanderling

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

With two world premiere recordings, this program highlights the Romantic and spiritual side of contemporary music from Russia and Eastern Europe. Galina Ustvolskaya's early Concerto expresses a vision of beauty and suffering in a tonal language quite unlike her later works. Giya Kancheli's Sio or "breeze" is notable for its striking use of silence, as well as modal tunes, bass drones and wide dynamic extremes derived from Georgian folk music. Silvestrov's devotional Hymn reflects his approach to music as "a song the world sings about itself".

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 09, 2016

  • Catalog Number: GP678

  • UPC: 747313967827

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Galina Ustvolskaya, Giya Kancheli, Valentin Silvestrov

  • Conductor: Thomas Sanderling

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Elisaveta Blumina, Jurgen Spitschka