1. Bacewicz: Piano Works / Jablonski - ArkivMusic

Bacewicz: Piano Works / Jablonski

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On this album, Peter Jablonski’s third for Ondine, the pianist presents Grażyna Bacewicz’s (1909–1969) dazzling piano etudes and sonatas, barely known outside her native Poland. Jablonski’s albums have received an enthusiastic response and his previous release received Editor’s Choice from Gramophone magazine.

In recent years the music of Grażyna Bacewicz has been enjoying increasing popularity in concert hall programs. Bacewicz was a major Polish composer and a versatile musician: a child prodigy violinist, she was also an accomplished pianist. As a composer, she is known for her inventive, complex, and original musical language, and particularly many of her works for violin are well known. Bacewicz studied first at the Warsaw Conservatory and briefly continued her studies in Paris before returning back home. In 1934, she received a position of concertmaster at the Polish Radio Orchestra. This position proved invaluable to her as a composer, giving her insights into each instrument’s possibilities and orchestral composition. Her music displays many characteristic traits of the twentieth-century that are to be heard in the writings of Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Bartók, and Lutosławski, among others. Jablonski’s piano album covers only eight short years during which the works presented here were composed and brings together, for the first time, both piano sonatas, and both sets of etudes. Sonata No. 1 for solo piano was composed in 1949, but went unpublished for over seventy years until Peter Jablonski edited it for PWM.


The two-fold pleasure of this release is experiencing the interesting if unfamiliar music of an important woman composer, played by a pianist in the full flower of his mature, imaginative artistry.

-- Gramophone (Editor's Choice, March 2022)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1399-25

  • UPC: 761195139929

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Grażyna Bacewicz

  • Performer: Peter Jablonski