O Jesulein...A German Baroque Christmas Oratorio / Clematis

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This innovative program presents an imaginary Christmas oratorio made up of works by German composers of the 17th century. Many of these works are unpublished and come from the splendid Düben collection in the library of the University of Uppsala; they are arranged here in a sequence that introduces the scenes and the principal characters of the Nativity: Mary, Joseph, the Archangel Gabriel, the angels, the shepherds, the Magi and Simeon. These works belong to the genre of the historia sacra and depict the dialogue of the Annunciation between the archangel Gabriel and Mary, the arrival of the Magi — guided by angels — at the manger, and the scene where Mary and Joseph look for Jesus in the Temple.

These narrative scenes stand in contrast to the large ensembles that represent the angelic host, the shepherds, and the adoring multitudes before the manger. The instruments also play an important role in this celebration with their contrasting timbres. This recording features works by Andreas Hammerschmidt, Wolfgang Carl Briegel, Christian Flor, Christoph Bernhard, Heinrich Schütz, Franz Tunder, David Pohle, and Thomas Selle.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 14, 2022

  • Catalog Number: RIC444

  • UPC: 5400439004443

  • Label: Ricercar

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Various

  • Conductor: Geoffrey Simon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Clematis