Glenn Gould Plays Mozart Piano Sonatas - ArkivMusic

Glenn Gould Plays Mozart Piano Sonatas

Regular price $22.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sony Classical is pleased to announce a new batch of reissues from the CBS/Sony and RCA Victor/BMG back catalogues. This latest instalment of the popular series showcases Mozart and Chopin along with conductor Robert Craft’s pioneering Webern recordings and the global journeys of that irrepressible musical explorer Yo-Yo Ma.

Between 1966 and 1974, Glenn Gould paid repeated visits to Columbia’s New York studio to record the piano sonatas of Mozart. Often revelatory, sometimes quirky, but always stimulating, these controversial readings tell us as much about the performer’s own endlessly fascinating musical mind and his conflicting attitudes to Mozart as they do about the composer’s genius at the keyboard. But no other classical sonatas – not even Beethoven’s – were paid the tribute of an integral recording by Glenn Gould. His delight in playing them can be heard throughout this set. Sony Classical is now reissuing the 18 sonatas and two fantasias in a remastered 4-album box.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 19439917892

  • UPC: 194399178928

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Mozart

  • Performer: Glenn Gould