Sir Colin Davis Conducts Mozart Serenades & Overtures - ArkivMusic

Sir Colin Davis Conducts Mozart Serenades & Overtures

Regular price $22.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sony Classical is pleased to announce a new batch of reissues from the CBS/Sony and RCA Victor/BMG back catalogues. This latest instalment of the popular series showcases Mozart and Chopin along with conductor Robert Craft’s pioneering Webern recordings and the global journeys of that irrepressible musical explorer Yo-Yo Ma.

Sir Colin Davis was indisputably one of the greatest Mozart conductors of the last century, both in the opera house and in the recording studio. In Munich in the early 1990s, near the end of his tenure as chief conductor of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, he recorded several of the popular serenades and wind concertos (“Davis is completely at home in this music and brings to it grandeur and delicacy in good measure and judicious balance” – Gramophone). And in 1998, as the Dresden Staatskapelle’s first-ever conductor laureate, he recorded twelve opera overtures (“Beautifully turned string playing, wonderful contributions from the wind section, and transparent textures: it all represents splendid ‘big band’ Mozart in the modern tradition” – Classics Today). These superb RCA recordings are now reissued in a 4-album box set.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 19439912922

  • UPC: 194399129227

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Sir Colin Davis

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra