A Beautiful Blue Moment / Dahl, Hagans, Aman & Uotila

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Danish piano auteur Carsten Dahl and the dynamic American trumpeter Tim Hagans meet the acclaimed Swedish bassist Johnny Åman and the Finnish master drummer Jukkis Uotilaon on the new album A Beautiful Blue Moment, now available on Storyville Records. This rare quartet had never played together before they gathered at the scene of the historic jazz club Montmartre in Copenhagen and played the music recorded here over three sold-out evenings in August 2021. Quite the beautiful moment indeed!

The quartet mainly played free music with an original searching idea of being composing musicians and playing composers, who constantly found new horizontal and vertical directions in music. The original idea for the quartet arose, when Dahl and Hagans taught together at a jazz college in 2019, and realized that they shared musical understanding, humor, fervor and curiosity, when it comes to exploring the essence of music creation. They have been close friends ever since. Dahl, Uotila and Åman had their very first musical encounter at Montmartre, but it turned out to be a truly magical and flying journey. The combination of the four musicians is simply an explosive, poetic and ground-breaking meeting, where their common breathing in music is free, effortless and at the same time linked to their great habitus in tradition and in the many expressions of jazz music. After three great evenings, where musical sparks flew in abundance, the four musicians went directly in the studio for a 6 hours spontaneous recording session. The result is a once in a lifetime jazz voyage, so fasten your seatbelt and get ready for a ride!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 03, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SVL1018528

  • UPC: 717101852826

  • Label: Storyville Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Carsten Dahl