Shaporin: Complete Piano Music / Kozlovski

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

With its roots in the tradition of Borodin and Mussorgsky, the music of the Ukrainian-born Soviet composer Yuri Shaporin (1887–1966) sits between the late Romanticism of Scriabin and the harder edges of Shostakovich and Prokofiev, blending a mastery of counterpoint with an acute sense of Russian keyboard color. In Shaporin’s piano music his fondness for the epic – expressed in two large-scale sonatas and a mighty passacaglia – is contrasted with a number of gentle, almost whimsical miniatures.

Kirill Kozlovski is a Finnish-Belarusian pianist, harpsichordist and researcher. He holds a doctoral degree from the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki for his research into the music of Dmitri Shostakovich (2017). His present research interests include Soviet music and cultural history, as well as performance practices within the Russian piano school.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 06, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0621

  • UPC: 5060113446213

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Yuri Shaporin

  • Performer: Kirill Kozlovski