Armengol: Danzas Cubanas / Carnacho

Regular price $13.49
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Either through Ruiz Armengol’s travels to Cuba, or Cuban musicians visiting Mexico, he met a number of musicians from Cuba; among the more notable were René Touzet, César Portillo de la Luz, and José Antonio Méndez. The last two composers, along with Ruiz Armengol and Mexican songwriter Vicente Garrido, are considered to be the leaders of the bolero filin, a Latin song style that became popular both in Mexico and Cuba during the 1950s and 60s. The Cuban bolero is a binary song style, derived from the danzón and habanera, which is characterized by long flowing melodies and was brought to Mexico by Cuban entertainers. Ruiz Armengol encouraged by René Touzet embraced the composition of his first set of Cuban dances over a span of eleven years. The first nineteen Cuban dances were composed between 1979 and 1991. The last three Cuban dances, written in 2001 and remain unpublished. Ruiz Armengol’s innovations in the Cuban dance genre in the areas of form, harmonic originality, rhythmic variety, aesthetic content, and pianistic brilliance, suggest a unique contribution in the history of the genre. Arguably, time is the greatest test of a composer’s merit and his Cuban Dances appear to be on the winning side of this test, as evidenced by the interest in his music by performers and audiences. 

Pianist Martín Camacho has won eighteen national and local competitions in Mexico, Cuba and the United States. He has performed extensively as a recitalist in Mexico, Cuba, Venezuela, Japan, Italy, Serbia, Croatia and Norway, as well as in more than 20 cities in the United States and Canada. He has performed as a soloist with some of the most important symphony orchestras in Mexico and Cuba; and in more than 15 cities in the United States and Canada. Camacho's experience in Mexican, Cuban and Latin American music has led him to give several presentations, lectures and recitals at national and international conferences. In 2009 he performed his debut recital at Carnegie Hall to great acclaim in front of a full house. Dr. Camacho completed his doctoral studies (2006) at the University of Miami. He began his piano studies in Mexico City at the Escuela Superior de Música, and continued his studies at the Instituto Superior de Arte in Havana, Cuba, where he obtained a Bachelor of Music degree (1993). He obtained a Master of Music degree (1998) and a Diploma of Professional Studies (2000) at the Cleveland Institute of Music, under the direction of pianist Sergei Babayan.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 06, 2017

  • Catalog Number: JBCC268

  • UPC: 600685102688

  • Label: Urtext Records

  • Composer: Mario Ruiz Armengol

  • Performer: Martin Camacho


  1. No. 7. La siete

    Composer: Mario Ruiz Armengol

    Performer: Martin Camacho (Piano)

  2. No. 3. Serenata melancólica

  3. No. 9. Canta, clave

  4. No. 8. Los días felices

  5. No. 1. Recordando a Papá

  6. No. 4. Viejos recuerdos

  7. No. 2. En el café

  8. No. 6. Ayer y hoy

  9. No. 15. Baila dristeza

  10. No. 12. ¡Gracias a Dios!

  11. No. 16. Esencia

  12. No. 20. Danza cubana

  13. No. 21. Danza cubana

  14. No. 22. Danza cubana

  15. No. 17. Ritmonía

  16. No. 14. Exótica

  17. No. 5. Lamento criollo

  18. No. 11. ¡Pequeña, alegre y bonita!

  19. No. 13. Triste Amor

  20. No. 19. ¡Sí y no!

  21. No. 18. La dieciocho

  22. No. 10. Fantasiosa