Ponce, Castro, Villanueva, Rolón: Salon Mexicano / Jorge Federico Osorio

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"Over the years, the pianist Jorge Federico Osorio has garnered extraordinary praise. Osorio’s interest in wrongly neglected repertoire continues on [this] recording, which explores salon music written around the beginning of the last century by four Mexican composers: Manuel Ponce, Ricardo Castro, Felipe Villanueva, and José Rolón.

"I suspect that even the purists will be impressed and moved by many of these gentle and quirky works—the four Ponce works, the Castro Mazurka and Barcarolle, and the half-dozen or so Villanueva and Castro waltzes deserve to be singled out.

"I have never heard a Çedille recording that deserved less than a perfect score in the sound engineering department, and this one is no exception. In sum, a delightful recording that confirms Osorio’s outstanding artistry."

--FANFARE (Radu A. Lelutiu)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 28, 2012

  • Catalog Number: CDR 132

  • UPC: 735131913225

  • Label: Cedille

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Felipe Villanueva, José Rolón, Manuel Ponce, Ricardo Castro

  • Performer: Jorge Federico Osorio