Monteverdi: Orfeo, Ulisse, Poppea / Garrido, Ensemble Elyma

Regular price $44.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

At the end of the 1990s, the recordings of Gabriel Garrido represented an important landmark in the interpretation of Monteverdian opera. What attracted one’s attention straightaway in his versions were the brilliance and the hedonism of the actual recordings. On this release, three of Monteverdi’s operas are showcased- L’Orfeo, Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria, and L’incoronazione di Poppea. The recordings were made between 1996 and 2000 and feature Ensemble Elyma, an early music ensemble specializing in the baroque musical heritage of Latin America.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: PC10442

  • UPC: 7619990104426

  • Label: Pan Classics

  • Number of Discs: 8

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Claudio Monteverdi

  • Conductor: Gabriel Garrido

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Ensemble Elyma