Messiaen: Quatuor Pour La Fin Du Temps / Widmann, Altstaedt, Lonquich

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In 2008, Carolin Widmann, Jörg Widmann, Nicolas Altstaedt and Alexander Lonquich performed Olivier Messiaen's Quartet for the end of time for violin, clarinet, cello and piano with the seriousness of spirit and subtle understatement that the work requires. Composed in 1940 in a German prisoner-of-war camp, Messiaen here reached a pinnacle of his composing career at the age of just 31. In this work he conveys to his listeners his spiritual interpretation of (musical) time and plays of colour. With these four exceptional chamber musicians, all masters of their art, the Salzburg Festival was treated to an exemplary performance of this work.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 29, 2013

  • Catalog Number: ORF-C840121B

  • UPC: 4011790840123

  • Label: ORFEO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Olivier Messiaen

  • Performer: Alexander Lonquich, Carolin Widmann, Jörg Widmann, Nicolas Altstaedt