Korngold: The Sea Hawk, Deception / Stromberg, Moscow SO

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"Classical music label Naxos continue their ‘Film Music Classics’ series with two world premiere recordings. Erich Wolfgang Korngold is one of the fathers of film music and his 1940 score for Michael Curtiz’ The Sea Hawk is probably one of his most famous works, alongside The Adventures of Robin Hood. The complete score for the swashbuckling epic has now been recorded by William Stromberg and the Moscow Symphony Orchestra and Chorus and if that weren’t enough the orchestra has also recorded Korngold’s complete 1946 score for Irving Rapper’s Deception, starring Bette Davis and Claude Rains. Both scores are spread across 40 tracks on 2 discs and it’s an album that is likely to sell very well indeed, as fans will finally get a chance to hear these golden age masterpieces in their entirety."

--Review by Michael Beek, Music from the Movies, June 2007

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8570110-11

  • UPC: 747313011070

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Erich Wolfgang Korngold

  • Conductor: William T. Stromberg

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Moscow Symphony Choir, Moscow Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Alexander Zagorinsky, Irina Romishevskaya