Mayr: Concerto Bergamasco / Hauk, Bavarian Classical Players

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Though revered as ‘the father of Italian opera’, Simon Mayr also wrote large-scale instrumental and orchestral music. His 1820 Concerto in D minor has an ingenious trick up its sleeve: it introduces each of the four soloists in turn with the flute, for example, soloing in the first movement and the clarinet in the second. This elegant, lyrical work hints at Beethoven but also at folklore in a winning way. The assured Keyboard Concerto reveals the influence of Haydn on the German-born Mayr whilst the Trio Concertante is imbued with Mayr’s vivid operatic impulses.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8570927

  • UPC: 747313092772

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Giovanni Simone Mayr

  • Conductor: Franz Hauk

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Classical Players

  • Performer: Andrea Steinberg, Antonio Spiller, David Van Dijk, Franz Hauk, Natalie Schwaabe, Yi Li