Claus Peter Flor conducts Mendelssohn

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sony Music Entertainment is pleased to announce another ten releases in its increasingly comprehensive series of Classical Masters. These new box sets contain classic interpretations by some of the most celebrated musicians of the 20th century. Once again, the series offers cornerstones of the orchestral repertoire, including two complete symphony cycles. A distinguished German conductor featured in the new release is Claus Peter Flor, whose “excellent feel for Mendelssohn’s music” was lauded by Gramophone. Collected here in a single box are Flor’s acclaimed Bamberg Symphony Orchestra recordings of Mendelssohn’s complete symphonies (“affection and intelligence … good traditional polished German playing” – BBC Music Magazine), overtures and Midsummer Night’s Dream incidental music (“a charming, musical and lively account … very good sound” –, as well as a neglected masterpiece, the cantata based on Goethe’s Die erste Walpurgisnacht.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 28, 2017

  • Catalog Number: 88985393562

  • UPC: 889853935628

  • Label: Sony Music Entertainment

  • Number of Discs: 6

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

  • Conductor: Claus Peter Flor

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bamberg Symphony Chorus, Bamberg Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Anton Scharinger, Deon Van der Walt, Jadwiga Rappé, Josef Protschka, Julie Kaufmann, Kyoko Takezawa, Lucia Popp, Marjana Lipovsek, Matthias Hölle, Sergei Edelmann