Meyerbeer: Margherita d'Anjou / Luisi, Orchestra Internazionale d'Italia

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Margherita D’Anjou was Giacomo Meyerbeer’s fourth opera in Italian and his first true success. After an absence from the stage of one and a half centuries, it returned at the 43rd Valle d’Itria Festival in an exemplary production: the ironical setting of the director Talevi- the War of the Roses takes place at the London Fashion Week- is perfectly matched by the elegant direction of Luisi, at the head of the Orchestra Internazionale d’Italia. The opera, which belongs to the semi-serious genre, moves from the warlike tones of Act One to the idyllic ones of Act Two, where both female protagonist appear: the queen, a soprano, and the wife, a contralto; both seeking the love of a heroic tenor equally daring in battle and in music.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 02, 2018

  • UPC: 8007144078027

  • Catalog Number: DYN-CDS7802.02

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Giacomo Meyerbeer

  • Conductor: Fabio Luisi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Italian International Orchestra, Piacenza Municipal Theater Chorus

  • Performer: Anton Rositskiy, Arcangelo Carbotti, Bastian Thomas Kohl, Carlo Filippo Romano, Dielli Hoxha, Elena Tereshchenko, Gaia Petrone, Giulia De Blasis, Laurence Meikle, Lorenza Izzo, Massimiliano Guerrieri