Soukup & Pabst: Levitas

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Saxophonist Luboš Soukup together with his long-term musical partner, German pianist Christian Pabst, have recorded a new album released on the Czech label Animal Music. The duo mostly play their own repertoire and their artistic goal is to maintain a meaningful musical dialogue. By way of improvisation and their free approach to the compositions, they achieve a uniquely powerful style of interpretation. Levitas draws on jazz, but also dips into folklore and classical music for inspiration. The two musicians met in Denmark almost 10 years ago when they both lived in Copenhagen, studying at the Danish National Academy of Music. Already their first collaboration showed how well they got along, as musicians and personalities. Since then, they have given a number of concerts in Demark, the Czech Republic, Germany, the Netherlands and Slovakia. Levitas is their third joint album, preceded by Through the Mirror from 2013 and Zeme (Earth) from 2017, which was recorded together with the renowned guitarist Lionel Loueke as guest.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ANI106-2

  • UPC: 8594211850056

  • Label: Animal Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Christian Pabst, Lubos Soukup

  • Performer: Lubos Soukup, Christian Pabst