F. Henriques: Orchestral Works / Bellincampi, Åstrand, Et Al

Regular price $9.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Light, charming, unpretentious, and tuneful, Fini Henriques' (1867-1940) music recalls happier times and a more elegant, civilized era (which never really existed, but never mind). As a composer of "pops" favorites, he certainly deserves his high standing in Denmark, and this lovely disc should make him many friends elsewhere. Everything here is simply delightful, from the witty and not terribly demonic Devil's Dance for violin and orchestra, to the charming "Gallop" taken from his ballet The Little Mermaid. The Suite in F for oboe and orchestra ought to enter the repertoire of enterprising oboists everywhere, and the most substantial work here, the incidental music from Wayland Smith, shows the composer at his colorful and tuneful best. Giordano Bellincampi leads the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra and the two fine soloists in enthusiastic, loving performances and they're vividly recorded too. There's really nothing else to say: if you enjoy exploring the nooks and crannies of high quality "light" music, you'll find this a disc to treasure.--David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday.com

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8224173

  • UPC: 730099987325

  • Label: Marco Polo

  • Composer: Fini Henriques

  • Conductor: Giordano Bellincampi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Christina Åstrand, Max Artved