Kodaly: Hary Janos Suite, Dances of Galanta; Dohnanyi / Schwarz, Seattle

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

When Kodály constructed a suite of music from his opera Háry János, he further immortalised the braggart soldier of the title. Dreamlike and fantastic, the six scenes are imbued with imaginative writing of sweeping intensity, embracing a love-duet, a mock-epic battle, a folk song, and a vigorous recruiting dance. In the Dances of Galánta he again employed the Hungarian verbunkos recruiting dance tradition to celebrate the eightieth anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Society. The Konzertstück of his compatriot and nearcontemporary Ern? Dohnányi is a full-scale cello concerto of considerable lyric beauty.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 31, 2012

  • Catalog Number: 8572749

  • UPC: 747313274970

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ernö von Dohnányi, Zoltán Kodály

  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Seattle Symphony Chorus, Seattle Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Christopher Sereque, János Starker