Piazzolla: Tango Distinto / Achilles Liarmakopoulos

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Legendary tango performer and composer Astor Piazzolla gained experience of jazz in New York and classical form and technique through studies with Alberto Ginastera. His work lends itself perfectly to arrangement for all kinds of ensemble, and this is the first recording with solo trombone. These popular pieces showcase the stunning playing of multi-award winning soloist Achilles Liarmakopoulos in a variety of moods, including the famous Oblivion, and Le Grand Tango, a virtuoso show-stopper originally written for cellist Mstislav Rostropovich.

'I haven't sat right through a CD of tangos until this one. Greek trombonist Achilles Liarmakopoulos, who plays with Canadian Brass, is an astonishing player, a musician of extraordinary subtlety and understatement. With the sweetest, most seductive tone imaginable, he glides through the Piazzolla classics, including the full Histoire du Tango, all three movements of the beautiful Serie del Angel, Michelangelo, Oblivion and a heart-wrenching, soulful rendition of Soledad. His group, including the great bandoneon player Hector del Curto, is superlative. An outstanding disc.' (Herald Scotland)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 13, 2011

  • Catalog Number: 8572596

  • UPC: 747313259670

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Astor Piazzolla

  • Performer: Achilles Liarmakopoulos, Arnold Choi, Edson Scheid, Hector Del Curto, Ian Rosenbaum, Jiyun Han, Maura Valenti, Octavio Brunetti, Pedro Giraudo, Raul Garcia, Robert Thompson