Marais: Pieces de viole, Book 1 / Joubert-Caillet, L'Acheron

Regular price $36.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Here is the start of a great adventure: the complete recording of the five books of pieces de viole of Marin Marais. The First Book, published in 1686, cnotains a dozen suites, two of which are scored for two bass viols and continuo. It also features a very moving Tombeau for 'Monsieur Meliton', probably one of Marais's teachers, and a set of variations on a theme given to the composer by an 'estranger', which foreshadows one of the principal compositions of his Second Book, the Couplets des Folies d'Espagne.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RIC379

  • UPC: 5400439003798

  • Label: Ricercar

  • Composer: Marin Marais

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: L'Achéron

  • Performer: François Joubert-Caillet