Haydn: Piano Trios / Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


[In] Haydn’s piano trios...it takes only a hint of overstatement to undermine it completely. Fortunately, this disc, which includes four of Haydn’s relatively late trios (three of them written at the same time as the London symphonies) is almost entirely without blemish. The Kalichstein– Laredo–Robinson Trio combines three formidable soloists who came together in 1977. Joseph Kalichstein’s keyboard technique is impeccable, with a consistent evenness and lightness of touch that is simply breathtaking. Jaime Laredo, in the main sparkling in his performance, has a slight tendency to over-emphasis, although generally there is a marvellous sense of ebullience in the playing. This disc includes the G major Trio (Hob XV/25) with its famous ‘Gypsy’ Rondo, but for collectors of ‘purple patches’, the E minor Allegretto of Hob XV/28 with its enigmatic chromatic theme in octaves will certainly surprise. A disc to treasure.
Performance: 5 (out of 5; Sound: 5 (out of 5)

-- Annette Morreau, BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 09, 1988

  • Catalog Number: DOR-90164

  • UPC: 053479016423

  • Label: Dorian

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio

  • Performer: Jaime Laredo, Joseph Kalichstein, Sharon Robinson