Kronos plays Holmgreen

Regular price $12.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.

Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen (b. 1932) is one of the leading Scandinavian composers, an outstanding and insistent voice from the generation born in the inter-war years. This CD is the culmination of the composer’s unique collaboration with the world-famous American Kronos Quartet, which has been commissioning specially tailored works from the Danish composer for over 20 years.



The CD concludes with the ninth string quartet of Holmgreen, written for the Kronos Quartet in 2006. It is in a single movement, beginning and ending with recorded sounds of a roaring ocean. The blending of recorded sounds of nature and instrumental music is effective and moving, a beautiful tribute to the power of nature, representing a kind of Danish impressionism.

There is much on this collection of music that is similarly evocative, as well as much that is rather frustrating, but that mix reflects a powerful musical talent.

– Fanfare

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 6220548

  • UPC: 747313154869

  • Label: Dacapo

  • Composer: Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgree

  • Conductor: Thomas Dausgaard

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Kronos Quartet

  • Performer: David Harrington, Hank Dutt, Jeffrey Zeigler, John Sherba, Paul Hillier