Moody: The Akathistos Hymn / Lingas, Cappella Romana

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This release beautifully showcases the Akáthistos Hymn to the Virgin Mary, set by Ivan Moody. This lyrical masterpiece in 24 stanzas has been treasured for nearly 1,500 years by Eastern Christians. Father Moody’s 1998 setting, composed specially for the ensemble, weaves beloved Greek melodies into Russian choral textures as it progresses from reverent contemplation to ecstatic transcendence. Father Ivan Moody studied music and theology at the Universities of London, Joensuu, and York. He studied composition with Brian Dennis, Sir John Tavener, and William Brooks. His music has been broadcast and performed all over the world. He is an archpriest of the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople and is Chairman of the International Society for Orthodox Music. This is the world premiere recording of this work.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CR418-2CD

  • UPC: 746839858930

  • Label: Cappella Romana

  • Composer: Ivan Moody

  • Conductor: Alexander Lingas

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cappella Romana

  • Performer: John Vergin