Wagner: Tannhauser / Kober, Bayreuth Festival Orchestra and Chorus

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This live recording of Richard Wagner’s Tannhauser was made at the 2014 Bayreuth Festival. “Kober’s conducting… is outstanding and the chorus are superb… The color that Nylund is able to apply… pays dividends with Elisabeth… Keri achieves a good balance between the more lyrical side of his character and the Romantic heldentenor… Musically it’s a glorious affair… that finds the true delicacy and poignancy within what is surely the most Romantic of Wagner’s works on the misunderstood suffering, exiled artist.” (OperaJournal) “Camilla Nylund’s Elisabeth and Kwangchul Youn’s Landgraf deservedly received the most applause at the curtain calls.” (Bachtrack) “Especially in the Singer’s Contest in the second act the performers act with heart and soul. Baumgarten developed a truly animated stage direction.” (Opernnetz)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 27, 2018

  • Catalog Number: OA CD9044D

  • UPC: 809478090441

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Richard Wagner

  • Conductor: Axel Kober

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Chorus, Bayreuth Festival Orchestra

  • Performer: Camilla Nylund, Katja Stuber, Kwangchul Youn, Lothar Odinius, Markus Eiche, Michelle Breedt, Rainer Zaun, Stefan Heibach, Thomas Jesatko, Torsten Kerl