1. Wagner: The Bayreuth Edition

Wagner: The Bayreuth Edition

Regular price $108.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This epic collection brings together all of Opus Arte's recordings from the Bayreuth Festival. Included are many of Wagner's much-admired operas which show how the mastery of composer, conductor, and performer can combine to create a true musical excellence. Wagner's epic four-opera cycle, Der Ring des Nibelungen, is a work of extraordinary scale and is given an interpretation that is both thrilling and sensitive by the conductor Christian Thielemann and a cast of renowned Wagner interpreters. Thielemann also presents an incredible account of Der fliegende Holländerin a recording which secured his place as the world's greatest Wagner conductor. Klaus Florian Vogt is staggering in the title role of Lohengrin, with Andris Nelsons brings out the best in the festival chorus and orchestra. This recording of Tannhäuser, Wagner’s tale of the struggle between spiritual and profane love, and of redemption through love, was described by Opera Journal as 'outstanding’, whilst Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, which tells a humorous tale about artistically inclined craftsmen, was described as ‘on an entirely new Wagnerian scale...” (The Washington Post). The set is completed by the critically acclaimed recording of Tristan und Isolde starring the leading Wagner exponents Robert Dean Smith and Iréne Theorin in the title roles.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 10, 2021

  • Catalog Number: OA CD9048BD

  • UPC: 809478090489

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 30

  • Composer: Richard Wagner

  • Conductor: Andris Nelsons, Axel Kober, Christian Thielemann, Peter Schneider, Sebastian Weigle

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bayreuth Festival Chorus, Bayreuth Festival Orchestra

  • Performer: Albert Dohmen, Andreas Macco, Andrew Shore, Anna Gabler, Annette Dasch, Annette Küttenbaum, Arnold Bezuyen, Artur Korn, Benjamin Bruns, Camilla Nylund, Carola Guber, Charles Reid, Christa Mayer, Christian Tschelebiew, Clemens Bieber, Diogenes Randes, Edith Haller, Edward Randall, Endrik Wottrich, Eva-Maria Westbroek, Fionnuala McCarthy, Franz Hawlata, Franz-Josef Selig, Friedemann Röhlig, Georg Zeppenfeld, Gerhard Siegel, Hans-Jürgen Lazar, Hans-Peter König, Iréne Theorin, Jukka Rasilainen, Katja Stuber, Klaus Florian Vogt, Kwangchul Youn, Linda Watson, Lothar Odinius, Manuela Bress, Markus Eiche, Martin Snell, Martina Dike, Michael Volle, Michaela Kaune, Michelle Breedt, Norbert Ernst, Petra Lang, Rainer Zaun, Ralf Lukas, Ricarda Merbeth, Robert Dean Smith, Robert Holl, Robin Johannsen, Samuel Youn, Simone Schröder, Sonja Mühleck, Stefan Heibach, Stephen Gould, Thomas Jesatko, Tomislav Muzek, Torsten Kerl, Ulrike Helzel, Wilke te Brummelstroete, Willem van der Heyden