Mendelssohn & Enescu: String Octets / Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel Soloists

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Emerging from the pandemic like a bubble of oxygen from the ocean depths, this recording project is built around two ideas that lie at the heart of the Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth. On one hand it perfectly embodies the ideal of a continuing relationship between masters and artists in residence by bringing together three generations of musicians with Miguel da Silva, Lorenzo Gatto and the young artists currently in residence at the Chapel, providing an opportunity for the former to pass on their mastery and knowledge to the latter. On the other, it also fulfils a desire to bring together a number of artists in an ensemble that unites chamber music with a string orchestra for major works. The string octet, a form made even more attractive by its rarity, was adopted by two composers of genius: Mendelssohn and Enescu. These youthful works, nonetheless mature and filled with musical riches, echo each other here by highlighting their contrasts.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 06, 2023

  • Catalog Number: FUG808

  • UPC: 5400439008083

  • Label: Fuga Libera

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic, 20th Century

  • Composer: George Enescu, Felix Mendelssohn

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Soloists of the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel

  • Performer: Lorenzo Gatto, Miguel Da Silva