Monteclair: Flute Concertos / The Opus Project

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Celebrated Montréal flutist Joanna Marsden explores the work of eighteenth century French composer Michel Pignolet de Montéclair on MONTÉCLAIR CONCERTS FOR BAROQUE FLUTE from Navona Records. The performances feature The Opus Project, a chamber music initiative founded by Marsden and Christophe Gauthier dedicated to revisiting early musical prints and manuscript sources in order to celebrate the unsung treasures of baroque chamber music. The “concerts” of Montéclair reconcile Italian virtuosity and complexity with French expressive language, exploring a variety of national styles to which he was exposed during his time working in Milan. Orchestrated with flute, viola da gamba, harpsichord, and theorbo, The Opus Project gives new life to these centuries-old compositions for modern audiences.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 23, 2023

  • Catalog Number: NV6533

  • UPC: 896931008334

  • Label: Navona

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Michel Pignolet de Monteclair

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The Opus Project