Beethoven: Missa In C / Bernius, Hofkapelle Stuttgart, Kammerchor Stuttgart

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Kammerchor Stuttgart, under the direction of Frieder Bernius is one of the finest choirs worldwide. Their many prizewinning recordings have set a standard. Now Frieder Bernius presents Beethoven's "Missa in C major" (op. 86). With its tonal language of subjective avowal, the first of Beethoven's two masses opens up new worlds of expression which are expressly modern and point towards the future. Not to be considered a preliminary work to the Missa solemnis, it is an entirely independent work which set standards for the further development of settings of the Mass in the 19th century. The world premiere recording of Luigi Cherubini's "Sciant gentes" (1829) rounds out this CD.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CV83295

  • UPC: 4009350832954

  • Label: Carus

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Frieder Bernius

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Stuttgart Chamber Choir, Stuttgart Hofkapelle

  • Performer: Margot Oitzinger, Maria Keohane, Sebastian Noack, Thomas Hobbs


  1. Mass in C major, Op. 86

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Stuttgart Chamber Choir, Stuttgart Hofkapelle

    Performer: Thomas Hobbs (Tenor), Maria Keohane (Soprano), Sebastian Noack (Bass), Margot Oitzinger (Alto)

    Conductor: Frieder Bernius