Charpentier: Médée / Niquet, Le Concert Spirituel

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Médée, a tragedy in a prologue and five acts on a libretto by Thomas Corneille, was Marc-Antoine Charpentier’s first and last collaboration with the Académie Royale de Musique. The work was premiered on 4 December 1693, when Charpentier was exactly fifty years old and at the height of his career. Louis XIV attended the performance, proving that it was an eagerly awaited event. Yet this sombre drama, which disconcerted the public, was withdrawn after just ten performances, and not heard again until 1976. A specialist in the French repertory and a close associate of the Centre de musique baroque de Versailles, where he has followed all the advances in research and historically informed performance for thirty-five years, Hervé Niquet has endeavoured, in presenting this new Médée, scrupulously to apply all the scholarly findings available to us today.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 12, 2024

  • UPC: 3701624510209

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA1020

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Marc-Antoine Charpentier

  • Conductor: Herve Niquet

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Le Concert Spirituel

  • Performer: Marine Lafdal-Franc, Jehanne Amzal, Fabien Hyon, David Tricou, Floriane Hasler, Adrien Fournaison, Veronique Gens, Cyrille Dubois, Helene Carpentier, David Witczak, Thomas Dolie, Judith van Wanroij


  1. Médée

    Composer: Marc-Antoine Charpentier

    Ensemble: Le Concert Spirituel

    Performer: Véronique Gens (Soprano), Cyrille Dubois (Tenor), Judith van Wanroij (Soprano), Thomas Dolié (Baritone), David Witczak (Baritone), Hélène Carpentier (Soprano), Adrien Fournaison (Baritone), Floriane Hasler (Mezzo-Soprano), David Tricou (Tenor), Fabien Hyon (Tenor), Jehanne Amzal (Soprano), Marine Lafdal-Franc (Mezzo-Soprano)

    Conductor: Herve Niquet