Venice By Night / Chandler, La Serenissima

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Adrian Chandler and La Serenissima’s 10th release for Avie—coinciding with the label’s 10th anniversary—has all the hallmarks that have made the Vivaldi specialists one of the best-selling and acclaimed period-instrument bands performing today. As with the chart-topping French Connection 2 (AVR 2218), which featured the world-premiere recording of the flute concerto “Il Gran Mogol,” Adrian has once again unearthed numerous works from this period, recorded for the first time.


La Serenissima's latest album, “Venice by Night,” seeks to portray a night in Venice, with several thematically linked sections, starting with the arrival by Gondola. La Serenissima plays the Concerto for Bassoon and the dashing Violin Concerto in E minor with Chandler as the nimble and lyrical soloist. The musical journey also stops at the opera house to sample two enjoyable selections from L’Olimpiade, Vivaldi's Olympics opera. The album includes some neglected but worthy composers including Veracini, Lotti and Pollarolo. A particular standout is a remarkable Sinfonia for trumpet and strings by Giovanni Porta. Why he’s not better known today is a bit of a mystery but this collection shines some welcome light on his output.

– WQXR [7/2012]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: AV2257

  • UPC: 822252225723

  • Label: Avie

  • Composer: Anonymous, Antonio Lotti, Antonio Vivaldi, Carlo F. Pollarolo, Francesco Maria Veracini, Porta, Tomaso Albinoni

  • Conductor: Adrian Chandler

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: La Serenissima

  • Performer: Mhairi Lawson, Peter Whelan, Simon Munday