Higdon: Sky Quartet, Amazing Grace, Viola Sonata

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Pulitzer and GRAMMY® Award winner Jennifer Higdon is one of the most performed living American composers, and this program provides a unique opportunity to hear première recordings of her earlier chamber music. The String Trio was written while Higdon was a developing young composer, and the influences of Prokofiev and Copland can be heard in the Sonata for Viola and Piano. The beauty and immensity of the Western US sky was the inspiration for Sky Quartet, while Dark Wood explores the soulful and virtuoso character of the bassoon. Higdon’s “vibrant and individual voice” (Limelight Magazine) can be heard in further chamber works on Naxos 8.559298.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 30, 2013

  • Catalog Number: 8559752

  • UPC: 636943975220

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Jennifer Higdon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Serafin String Quartet

  • Performer: Charles Abramovic, Eric Stomberg, Lawrence Stomberg, Molly Carr, Timothy Schwarz