Agócs, Harrison & Rodriguez: Works for Violin & Percussion Orchestra

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The unique instrumentation of the three works in this album was pioneered by the innovative Lou Harrison, whose 1959 concerto encapsulates his culturally wide-ranging aesthetic. More conventional instruments work alongside calibrated extras such as wash tubs and flowerpots in a work of color, languorous elegance and kinetic energy. The companion works were composed in its honor: Robert Xavier Rodríguez’s Xochiquetzal evokes the ancient Mayan world in imaginary folk music to form a synthesis of time periods and cultures, while the economical serenity of Kati Agócs’s concerto also includes bitonal effects and zesty syncopation.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8574212

  • UPC: 747313421275

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Kati Agocs, Lou Harrison, Robert Xavier Rodriguez

  • Conductor: Frank Epstein

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New England Conservatory Percussion Ensemble

  • Performer: Nicholas Kitchen