Rimsky-Korsakov: Tsar's Bride / Barenboim, Peretyatko, Tomowa-Sinto, Kranzle, Cernoch

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Also available on Blu-ray

Based on an historical case, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Tsar’s Bride takes place in the suburbs of Moscow during the reign of Tsar Ivan IV, “the Terrible”, during the latter half of the 16th c. Widowed, he is looking for a new wife, his third. He chooses the young Marfa. She loves another man but bends to the Tsar’s will and renounces her love for the other. From this plot, Russian director Dmitri Tcherniakov retains only the frame. A live competition is organized for a virtual monarch, much like the reality shows of today. Here, the characters become the various players of the audiovisual industry bringing an acerbic critic to contemporary television. Daniel Barenboim conducts the Staatskapelle Berlin. With Olga Peretyatko, Anita Rachvelishvili and Johannes and Martin Kränzle. Recorded at Staatsoper, Im Schiller Theater Berlin, in October 2013.

Run time 152 min
Subtitles: French, English, German
Picture: 16/9, NTSC
Sound: Dolby Digital 2.0, Dolby Digital 5.1

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BAC105

  • UPC: 3760115301054

  • Label: BelAir Classiques

  • Composer: Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

  • Conductor: Daniel Barenboim

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Berlin Staatskapelle Orchestra, Berlin State Opera Chorus

  • Performer: Anatoli Kotscherga, Anita Rachvelishvili, Anna Tomova-Sintov, Johannes Martin Kränzle, Olga Peretyatko, Pavel Cernoch, Tobias Schabel