Marlboro Fest 40th Anniversary - Barber, Nielsen, Hindemith

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The fortieth anniversary of the Marlboro Festival proceeds with the second installment of CD reissues, notably these wind-music recordings which have previously been available only by mail order... The Barber-Nielsen-Hindemith CD is conflated from two more MRS LP/cassette issues: Barber and Hindemith from MR/MRSC-15, Nielsen from MR/MRSC-5, respectively issued in 1983 and 1981, although the Nielsen was recorded as long ago as 1971. Samuel Barber's Summer Music, in this conscientious account, will make its whole effect upon those previous to this composer's music. The Nielsen quintet has its classicism emphasized by a quickish-tempo'd tightly phrased performance, polished and exciting, full as it should be of well-aimed instrumental characterization. Paul Hindemith's 1957-58 octet quite simply gets the best performance in its regrettably exiguous discographic history, muscular and finely focused. No wind music fancier should be without this CD.

-- John Wiser, FANFARE [1/1991]

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 28, 1990

  • Catalog Number: SMK46250

  • UPC: 074644625028

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Carl Nielsen, Paul Hindemith, Samuel Barber

  • Performer: Elaine Douvas, Gail Kruvand, Joaquin Valdepeñas, Joseph Turner, Larry Combs, Patricia Rogers, Paul Neubauer, Paula Robison, Richard Solis, Robin Graham, Siegfried Palm, Stefanie Przybylska, Susan Rotholz, Theresa Tunnicliff, Toby Hoffman, Todd Phillips, Victoria Eisen, William Winstead