Medtner: Complete Piano Sonatas, Vol. 3 / Stewart

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This new release is the penultimate volume in this acclaimed series of Medtner’s Complete Piano Sonatas performed by series pianist Paul Stewart. Medtner’s 14 piano sonatas, the most significant achievement in this genre by any major composer since Beethoven, span his career. The Sonata-Ballade explores a tempestuous musical allegory – the triumph of Light over Darkness, of Faith over Doubt; while the Sonata in A minor is cast in a single, terse movement, with folkloric elements and frequent use of bell-like features that exude Russianness. By contrast, the ‘Night Wind’ Sonata is a monumental epic of exceptional complexity that stunned Rachmaninov and led composer and critic Sorabji to call it ‘the greatest piano sonata of modern times.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 09, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP888

  • UPC: 747313988822

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Nikolai Medtner

  • Performer: Paul Stewart