Bach - Earthly and Divine

Regular price $66.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

200 page colour book + 6 CD's in a luxurious boxed set. Our idea in presenting this set of CDs with its accompanying book was to propose a hedonistic experience, centred on Johann Sebastian Bach, and including a rich array of texts, music and illustrations, sources above all of pleasure for the music lover. And this, not with any instructive aim, but rather as an invitation to rediscover Bach, the man and the musician; perhaps also to break with the austere, neo-Romantic image that still survives today. These six discs, bringing together a variety of performances and instrumentations, make no claim to represent a definitive view of Bach's works; this explains, for example, why some are present in several 'forms', while others are absent. It is our hope that everyone will savour the sensuality, spirituality and sheer genius of Johann Sebastian Bach!

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA889

  • UPC: 3760014198892

  • Label: Alpha

  • Composer: Ferruccio Busoni, Johann Sebastian Bach, Raphaël Imbert

  • Conductor: Benoit Haller, Françoise Lasserre, Gustav Leonhardt, Raphaël Imbert, Raphaël Pichon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Akademia Ensemble, Café Zimmermann, La Chapelle Royale, Ricercar Consort

  • Performer: Alain Gerveau, André Rossi, Andrei Vieru, Arnaud de Pasquale, Benjamin Alard, Benjamin Dieltjens, Benoît Arnould, Bernard Foccroulle, Bertrand Cuiller, Blandine Rannou, Bruno Cocset, Caroline Magalhaes, Céline Frisch, Christian Immler, Christian Wolff, Dmitry Badiarov, Edin Karamazov, Elisabeth Joyé, Eugenie Warnier, Francis Jacob, Gérard Lesne, Greta de Reyghère, Gustav Leonhardt, Guy de Mey, Helene Schmitt, James Bowman, Jan Willem Jansen, Jean-Luc Di Fraya, Jean-Marc Fabiano, Jocelyne Cuiller, Koen Plaetnick, Léon Berben, Lucile Boulanger, Luigi Vecchioni, Marcel Beekman, Marie Béreau, Markus Schäfer, Martijn Vink, Max van Egmond, Michael Form, Monika Frimmer, Pablo Valetti, Pascal Monteilhet, Raphaël Imbert, Raphaël Oleg, Salome Haller, Stephan MacLeod, Thomas Dieltjens, Toon Fret, Veronika Winter, Vinciane Boulanger, Wibert Aerts, Yves Rechsteiner