Jacques Mercier conducts French Masterworks

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Orchestre national d’Île-de-France amassed an impressive discography of late 19th-century French music under former music director Jacques Mercier, and this collection of ten CDs brings together many little-known or undervalued works. Several discs of sacred vocal music include compositions by the likes of Gounod and Saint-Saëns (including his Requiem) and vocal soloists include Nathalie Dessay, Françoise Pollet, Véronique Gens and François Le Roux. Other discs explore the music of Roussel, Schmitt (his Sallambô suites, given a “splendid performance” – Gramophone) and Bruneau, and Bizet’s rarity Djamileh is performed complete. Rounding out the collection is Debussy’s Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2018

  • Catalog Number: 88985470862

  • UPC: 889854708627

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 10

  • Composer: Albert Roussel, Alfred Bruneau, Camille Saint-Saëns, Claude Debussy, Florent Schmitt, Georges Bizet

  • Conductor: Jacques Mercier

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Brighton Festival Chorus, Choeur Régional Vittoria D'ile De France, Ile de France Regional Chorus, National Orchestra d'Ile de France

  • Performer: Bernard Delétré, Daniel Galvez-Vallejo, Didier Henry, François Le Roux, Francoise Lieutaud, Françoise Pollet, Gaële Le Roi, Hélène Perraguin, Jacques Amade, Jean-Luc Maurette, Jean-Luc Viala, Karine Deshayes, Katalin Varkonyi, Laurent Naouri, Magali Chalmeau-Damonte, Marie Saint-Palais, Marie-Ange Todorovitch, Mario Hacquard, Michaël Lonsdale, Nicolas Rivenq, Philippe Cantor, Roselyne Cyrille, Sylvie Sullé, Véronique Gens