The Unknown Enescu, Vol. 2 / S. Lupu, Ciucur, Hobson, Sinfonia da Camera

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Although Enescu gave opus numbers to only 33 of his works, he left an enormous number of pieces in varying stages of composition, from sketches and draft outlines to isolated movements and some scores that are almost complete. Working with a handful of composers and musicologists – fellow Romanians with specialist knowledge of Enescu’s style – the violinist Sherban Lupu has produced performing editions of a number of previously unknown works, heard here in the context of other Enescu rarities. One of these ‘rescued’ pieces, hiding behind the modest title of Caprice roumain, is nothing less than a major violin concerto.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC 0647

  • UPC: 5060113446473

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: George Enescu

  • Conductor: Ian Hobson

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Sinfonia da Camera

  • Performer: Sherban Lupu, Viorela Ciucur, Ian Hobson