1. Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Vol. 1 / Pakhomova, Barsukova, Dichenko, Solovieva

Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Vol. 1

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The dignified bearing and quiet wisdom of Nikolai Myaskovsky (1881-1950) gained him the sobriquet "the conscience of Russian music," and those qualities are reflected in the unemphatic strength of his music. His orchestral, chamber and instrumental works are regaining the currency they once enjoyed, but his large corpus of songs, many of them understated masterpieces, has yet to attract systematic attention – a situation that this series hopes to remedy. The pairing here of his late Violin Sonata with his last two song-cycles for soprano and piano mirrors the Moscow concert in 1947 when all three were given their first performances.


This disc can be recommended just for the vocal works. The late Violin Sonata is a bonus, especially in its final revised version – the work underwent two revisions after its 1947 premiere by David Oistrakh and Lev Oborin. Just a few years ago, there were no recordings of the piece.

The 28-page booklet contains very well translated informative notes and full song text translations from Russian into English. This outstanding release is highly recommended. For me, it is one of the finest discs of 2021.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 01, 2021

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0355

  • UPC: 5060113443557

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Nikolay Myaskovsky

  • Performer: Elizaveta Pakhomova, Marina Dichenko, Olga Solovieva, Tatyana Barsukova