Bach: Matthäus-Passion / Suzuki, Bach Collegium Japan

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"Masaaki Suzuki brings to the St Matthew Passion the same devotional intensity that has characterised his Bach cantata recordings. This focus is immediately evident in the opening chorus/chorale, which he imbues with compelling power despite opting to use relatively small vocal and orchestral forces throughout. It is evident, too, in Bach Collegium Japan’s impeccable performances, which bespeak a score explored in meticulous detail and with profound affection. There is certainly much to admire here: fierce turbas, gentle chorales, exemplary instrumental solos."

5 out of 5 stars for both sound and performace!

-- Graham Lock, BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BIS-CD-1000-02

  • UPC: 7318591000020

  • Label: BIS

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

  • Performer: Chiyuki Urano, Gerd Türk, Jan Hagiwara, Kirsten Sollek, Makoto Sakurada, Midori Suzuki, Nancy Argenta, Peter Kooy, Robin Blaze, Tetsuya Odagawa, Yoshie Hida


  1. Saint Matthew Passion, BWV 244

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ensemble: Bach Collegium Japan

    Performer: Nancy Argenta (Soprano), Robin Blaze (Countertenor), Jan Hagiwara (Bass), Yoshie Hida (Soprano), Peter Kooy (Bass), Tetsuya Odagawa (Bass), Makoto Sakurada (Tenor), Kirsten Sollek (Alto), Midori Suzuki (Soprano), Gerd Türk (Tenor), Chiyuki Urano (Bass)

    Conductor: Masaaki Suzuki