Henri Vieuxtemps: Complete Violin Concertos

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is really an event in the world of recordings. Producing all of Vieuxtemps' seven violin concertos is quite an undertaking. Too much for a single person? It may be. For Augustin Dumay, master teacher-in-residence at the Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth, however, this was the opportunity to pay tribute to the vitality of the Franco-Belgian school, the substance of which he learnt through his master Arthur Grumiaux. The task was taken up by seven young virtuosos he has taught, several of whom have already distinguished themselves in major international competitions. This is the result, impressive by its commitment and mastery, registered in the beautiful hall of the Liège Philharmonic, where the orchestra plays Vieuxtemps « in its own backyard » under the expert baton of Patrick Davin. This attractive box of 3 CDs is also the opportunity to retrace Vieuxtemps' extraordinary career, often reduced to mere virtuosity when in fact he pursued a search for expression and content all his life. This is a hymn to the violin, to belcanto, panache, romanticism, transcending virtuosity and youth we find here, in this fourth volume in the collection « Chapelle Musicale Reine Elisabeth », under the label Fuga Libera. It follows in a beautiful series of titles which met with the enthusiasm of many listeners: Plamena Mangova (FUG517), Milos Popovic (FUG529) and Trio Dali (FUG547).

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 08, 2011

  • Catalog Number: FUG575

  • UPC: 5400439005754

  • Label: Fuga Libera

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Henri Vieuxtemps

  • Conductor: Patrick Davin

  • Performer: Harriet Langley, Hrachya Avanesyan, Jolente de Maeyer, Lorenzo Gatto, Nikita Boriso-Glebsky, Vineta Sareika, Yossif Ivanov