Ascenso / Santiago Cañón-Valencia

Regular price $12.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“Ascenso is a collection of works that have, in one way or another, a direct connection to myself. I wanted to present an album that was a representation of my current self, not just as a cellist, but as an artist. My idea is that this is not a cellist’s recording, or an album centered around the instrument, but rather a work that is meant to be experienced as you would a painting on a wall, whatever that may mean to you.”

Santiago Cañón-Valencia has been praised as one of the most promising young cellists of his generation. Born in Bogota in 1995, his major musical mentors have been Henryk Zarzycki in Colombia, James Tennant in New Zealand, Andres Diaz in the United States and Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt at the Kronberg Academy in Germany.

– A 2022 BBC Next Generation Artist and Winner of the Silver Medal and “Audience Favorite”

– A major prize winner of the Sphinx, Casals, Johansen, Cassadó, and Adam cello competitions.


What the charismatic virtuoso delivers is some attractive premieres. Ponce de León’s "La ruta de la mariposa" has a poignant transparency, and is exquisitely performed.

-- BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SLE-70028

  • UPC: 053479702821

  • Label: Sono Luminus

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Isaac Albeniz, Santiago Canon-Valencia, Leonardo Federico Hoyos, Damian Ponce de Leon, Jorge Humberto Pinzon Malagon

  • Performer: Santiago Canon-Valencia


  1. La Ruta de la Mariposa

    Composer: Damián Ponce de León

    Performer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Cello)

  2. Mesonoxian

    Composer: Jorge Humberto Pinzón Malagón

    Performer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Cello)

  3. Suite española No. 1, Op. 47: No. 5. Asturias (Leyenda)

    Composer: Isaac Albéniz

    Performer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Cello)

  4. Urban Rhapsody

    Composer: Leonardo Federico Hoyos

    Performer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Cello)

  5. Ascenso Hacia lo Profundo

    Composer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia

    Performer: Santiago Cañón-Valencia (Cello)