a view from within / Jim Robitaille Group feat. Dave Liebman

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

It's been a while since guitarist Jim Robitaille convened for a Jim Robitaille Group recording session. But the wait has been worth it. The award-winning guitarist-who has shared the stage/bill with Karl Berger, Bob Moses, Joe Beck, Gerry Gibbs, Santi Debriano, Julian Lage, Esperanza Spalding, Oscar Stagnaro, Kate McGarry, the Dizzy Gillespie Alumni All-Stars, among others-is finally back together with his simpatico musical brethren saxophonist Dave Liebman, along with Tony Marino and Alex Ritz on the profound and emotionally rendered A View from Within. Robitaille is a tactile talent, with notes that emerge like feelings, and chords that resonate with passion and sensitivity. Bassist Marino, an ace bandleader in his own right, and drummer Ritz, comprise a perfectly suited backdrop for Robitaille's explorations, while Liebman serves as an extraordinary partner, foil and focal point. Their work together on, for example, "Slow Tuesday" and "Point of Origin," is mesmerizing and enchanting, reflecting the hours, days, and gigs playing together. The performances here burn and boogie, lilt quietly and unfold unexpectedly. A View from Within is a dramatic and welcome return from Robitaille, whose recorded presence has been long overdue.


Jim Robitaille Group's A View From Within is a statement of extension and growth, building on the magic of the unit's 2004 debut. For that earlier release, the guitarist fronted a flexible quintet elevated by his own harmonic savvy and the presence of saxophonist Dave Liebman. Here, speaking both to continuity and contrast, he reunites with the storied saxophonist, removes the piano, and fills things out with a different rhythm tandem made up of two of Liebman's Expansions bandmates—bassist Tony Marino and drummer Alex Ritz. The resultant work— another John Abercrombie-influenced outing offering the same focused sound and even fresher air to breathe—is pure magic.

Fire and finesse don't always get along so well, but Robitaille has a gift for making peace between the two. 15 years was far too long to separate his group's first two releases. Here's to hoping that the third one doesn't take so long to arrive.

-- AllAboutJazz.com (Dan Bilawsky)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 18, 2019

  • Catalog Number: WCS118

  • UPC: 687606011823

  • Label: Whaling City Sound

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Performer: Jim Robataille, Dave Leibman, Tony Marino, Alex Ritz


  1. A View from Within

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  2. Slow Tuesday

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  3. Point of Origin

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  4. Nightfall

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  5. Touch and Go

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  6. Opaque

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  7. What is this Thing Called Love

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  8. Spatial

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group

  9. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise

    Ensemble: Jim Robitaille Group