1. Addinsell: Goodbye Mr. Chips - A Tale of Two Cities / Martin, Elms, Alwyn, BBC Concert Orchestra

Addinsell: Goodbye Mr. Chips - A Tale of Two Cities / Martin, Elms, Alwyn, BBC Concert Orchestra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

World-famous for the Warsaw Concerto from the film Dangerous Moonlight, Richard Addinsell was one of Britain’s leading composers for stage and screen. This selection ranges widely over every area of his achievement and includes the theme from his first international film success, Goodbye Mr. Chips, and the overture from Tom Brown’s Schooldays, which contains some of his finest music. The Smokey Mountains, an evocative ‘concerto’ in three movements, is a rare example of the genre, while The Isle of Apples reflects his importance as a composer of music for radio plays.


I have long had an affection for what has become known as British Light Music. Although Naxos have released a number of recordings of the genre already this appears to be the first in a new series of single composer CDs. Richard Addinsell was a prolific composer for films, radio and of standalone music. All are represented here including reconstructions and arrangements by various musicians where the original manuscripts have been lost. As with much of this music there are memorable melodies and beautiful orchestrations. The CD sets out to prove that there is more to Addinsell than just Warsaw Concerto. Shades of this are to be heard in the new-to-me theme from A Tale of Two Cities which ends the collection. A very welcome and enjoyable production.

-- Lark Reviews

The performances are excellent. Maestro Alwyn treats the music seriously, sparing no nuances of interpretation. Pianists Elm and Martin both furnish fine solo work. Any of these works would grace a good pops concert. In addition to being a skilled arranger, Philip Lane also contributes exemplary program notes.

-- AMerican Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 25, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 8555229

  • UPC: 747313522927

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Richard Addinsell

  • Conductor: Kenneth Alwyn

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: BBC Concert Orchestra

  • Performer: Philip Martin, Roderick Elms