Danish Choral Music / Holmens Vokalensemble

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Danish Choral Music

Holmens Kirke is located in the heart of Copenhagen, surrounded by the historic buildings of Christiansborg Palace (which now houses the Danish Parliament) and the old stock exchange “Børsen” from 1625, as well as the newer National Bank, designed by Arne Jacobsen and built between 1965-1978. It was King Christian IV of Denmark who ?rst converted this site from a naval anchor forge into a church in 1619. For more than 400 years, Holmens Kirke has served as the Royal Naval Church. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark and her consort, the late Prince Henrik, were married in Holmens Kirke on 10th June 1967. Holmens Kirke holds a special signi?cance in Danish musical life, partly due to the church’s rich history, prominent location and excellent acoustic, but also thanks to the great ?gures of Danish music such as Niels W. Gade, Thomas Laub and Mogens Wøldike who all worked as organists at Holmens Kirke. Each year, the church attracts thousands of people for its services and concerts.

This CD showcases the church music composed by the current organist of Holmens Kirke, Jakob Lorentzen. These works were created for use in services, ceremonies and concerts at Holmens Kirke and Christiansborg Palace Chapel.

It is customary in Mass services at Holmens Kirke that, following the Old Testament reading, the choir perform a short "korvers" ("choral verse") whilst the congregation remain standing to listen. A condensed selection of these “mini motets”, which number 140 in all, can be heard on this CD.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • Catalog Number: DACOCD974

  • UPC: 5709499974001

  • Label: Danacord

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johannes Andersen, Egil Harder, Thomas Laub, Jakob Lorentzen

  • Conductor: Jakob Lorentzen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Holmens Vokalensemble

  • Performer: Holmens Kantori, Magnus Larsson, Hanne Marie le Fevre, Jens Christian Wandt, Monica Stevns, Kirse Kampp, Ditte Hojgaard Andersen, Morten Ernst Lassen, Andreas Kongshavn, Magnus Mariegaard, Jakob Lorentzen, Jakob Lorentzen, Mikkel Tuxen, Christine Bach Tofft, Nana Bugge Rasmussen, Joar Sorensson, Emil Ritter, Magnus Mariegaard, Mikkel Tuxen, Morten Ernst Lassen